Sunday, June 7, 2009

Theetge Takes Castrol Win at Chaudière

Becomes Eighth NHMS Qualifier

VALLÉE-JONCTION, Qué. -- Donald Theetge's decision to return full-time to the Série ACT-Castrol in his native Canada is proving to be a good one; Theetge earned his first win of the season in the Le AIM Québec 150 at the Autodrome Chaudière bullring on Saturday night, padding his point lead over Patrick Laperle and others.

Theetge the 2006 champion of the series, worked his way from 15th at the start to take the lead from sophomore driver Patrick Hamel on lap 55. From there, he held off challenges from Hamel, Karl Allard, and Patrick Cliche before earning his 13th career victory on the series and third at Autodrome Chaudière. Cliche finished a career-best second ahead of Allard, while Jacques Poulin and Stéphane Descoste turned in surprise finishes of fourth and fifth, respectively. Claude Leclerc, Mike Lavoie, Hamel, Jean-François Déry, and Laperle completed the top ten finishers.

Trampas Demers of South Burlington finished 22nd, with Graniteville's Pete Potvin, III in 25th.

With the victory, Theetge becomes the eighth driver in eight events to earn an invitation to the 1-mile New Hampshire Motor Speedway, joining countrymen Laperle and Déry, winners of the first two Castrol races of the season, and ACT Late Model Tour winners Brad Leighton, Eric Williams, Scott Payea, Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., and Dave Pembroke. Like Pembroke, Theetge will have the advantage of having track time on the NHMS superspeedway, as he was part of a Goodyear tire test there in April.

Série ACT-Castrol -- Autodrome Chaudière, Vallée-Jonction, Qué.
Saturday, June 6, 2009


1. Donald Theetge, Boischatel, Qué.
2. Patrick Cliche, St-Jean-Chrysostome, Qué.
3. Karl Allard, St-Félicien, Qué.
4. Jacques Poulin, East-Broughton, Qué.
5. Stéphane Descoste, Oka, Qué.
6. Claude Leclerc, Lanoraie, Qué.
7. Mike Lavoie, Chicoutimi, Qué.
8. Patrick Hamel, St-Édouard-de-Lobinière, Qué.
9. Jean-François Déry, Québec, Qué.
10. Patrick Laperle, St-Denis-sur-Richelieu, Qué.
11. Sylvain Lacombe, Terrebonne, Qué.
12. Dany Ouellet, La Pocatière, Qué.
13. Justin Holtom, Ottawa, Ont.
14. Martin Lacombe, Terrebonne, Qué.
15. Valérie Chiasson, Le Gardeur, Qué.
16. Spencer MacPherson, Carleton Place, Ont.
17. Alexandre Gingras, Québec, Qué.
18. Pierre-Luc Ouellette, Terrebonne, Qué.
19. Yvon Bédard, St-Nicolas, Qué.
20. Éric St-Gelais, St-Nicolas, Qué.
21. Jonathan Desbiens, Lévis, Qué.
22. Trampas Demers, South Burlington
23. Etienne Lemay, Leclercville, Qué.
24. Daniel Bergeron, Mirabel, Qué.
25. Pete Potvin, III, Graniteville
26. Marc-André Cliche, Vallée-Jct., Qué.

No comments: