Sunday, June 7, 2009

Airborne Special Rained Out

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. -- The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series "Battle of Plattsburgh 100" at Airborne Speedway was postponed by rain on Sunday evening. A combined forty-eight Big Block and Small Block Modified teams were in the pit area, including those of DIRTcar stars Brett Hearn, Dale Planck, Matt Sheppard, and defending champion Billy Decker, and top Airborne regulars Patrick Dupree, Martin Roy, Leon Gonyo, and George Foley.

Airborne Speedway promoter Mike Perrotte -- who was also competing -- said that the Super DIRTcar Series race will "definitely" be rescheduled, although no date had been set at the time of the postponement on Sunday.

Unofficially, Airborne regular Jason Durgan was the fastest on the practice speed charts prior to the rain. Durgan was involved in a hard crash last week but returned with the same car.

No comments: