Monday, June 29, 2009

Mattison Breaks Through at Devil's Bowl

From CVRA press release

WEST HAVEN -- Don Mattison was the surprise winner on Sunday night at Devil's Bowl Speedway in West Haven, taking his first 358 Modified victory of the year; Mattison's best finish of the season before Sunday was 12th place on May 31. Mattison, of Wells, and Manchester driver Frank Hoard, Sr. stayed in close proximity at the front of the pack throughout the race, but Mattison never faltered and held on for the win. Tim LaDuc of Orwell finished third. Kenny Tremont, Jr. of West Sand Lake, N.Y. was unsuccessful in his bid for three consecutive victories, coming home in fourth place. Defending champion Todd Stone of Middlebury was fifth.

D.J. Brindige of Mechanicville, N.Y. took his first Budget Sportsman win of the season in a caution-marred event. Frank Hoard, Jr. of Whitehall, N.Y. finished second, with Schenectady, N.Y.'s Tim Hartman, Jr. in third place. Dennis Pennock and Jack Swinton completed the top-five.

Veteran Fred Little of Salisbury and Lori Langevin of Londonderry finished in a near dead-heat for the Pro Street Stock win, but electronic scoring awarded the win to Little by 0.026 seconds. Walt Brownell, Mike Paquin, and Cale Kneer rounded out the top-five finishers.

Mark Burch of Fort Edward, N.Y. took his first Limited victory of the year over Dave Emigh, Mike Clark, Jon Miller, and Paul Braymer.

Kayla Bryant of Rutland won the Mini Stock feature, with Andrew Smith of South Glens Falls, N.Y. winning in the Duke Stock class.

No comments: