Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Tiger Sportsmen to Have Three-Race Series in 2009

A three-race, three-track series was announced on Tuesday night for Thunder Road Int'l Speedbowl's NAPA Tiger Sportsman division. American-Canadian Tour President and Thunder Road Promoter Tom Curley made the announcement at rules meeting in Berlin to an overflow crowd of Tiger Sportsman drivers and crew members, confirming events at the soon-to-be-redesigned Airborne Speedway in Plattsburgh, N.Y. and the Canaan Fair Speedway in Canaan, N.H., as well as Thunder Road. Official dates for the events were not immediately available.

ACT has held touring Tiger Sportsman series in various forms sporadically since 1990. The last touring-type series for the division was held in 2006, with events at Airborne, Thunder Road, and the 1.3-km Sanair Super Speedway tri-oval in St-Pie, Que. Chuck Beede of Graniteville was named the series' champion after the final three events - which were to be held at Airborne, White Mountain Motorsports Park (N.H.) and Circuit Ste-Croix (Que.) were cancelled.

Past Tiger Sportsman Series Champions:
1990 - Dwayne Lanphear, Morrisville
1991 - Brent Dragon, Milton
1994 - Eric Williams, Hyde Park
1996 - Jimmy Young, Middlesex
1997 - Ricky Dennis, Colchester
1998 - Jimmy Young, Middlesex
1999 - Cooper MacRitchie, Williamstown
2000 - Cooper MacRitchie, Williamstown
2001 - John Donahue, Graniteville
2002 - Craig Bushey, Cambridge
2003 - Craig Bushey, Cambridge
2005 - Robin Wood, Plattsburgh, N.Y.
2006 - Chuck Beede, Graniteville
(No series in 1992-93, 1995, 2004, 2007-08)

No comments: