Wednesday, February 11, 2009

Laperle Goes Back-To-Back at New Smyrna

Chase a World Series-best 5th, Jarvis double-dips in open wheel divisions

Patrick Laperle has won his second consecutive ASA/Crate-type Late Model feature at New Smyrna (Fla.) Speedway's 43rd annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.

Laperle, the 2008 American-Canadian Tour Champion from St-Denis, Que. near Montréal, won an ugly race on Monday night that was shortened from 25 to 11 laps due to time constraints and multi-car pileups, but walked the definitive walk by defeating Dave Wagner of Akron, Oh. in Tuesday's full-distance, 25-lap event.

Joey Gase of Cedar Rapids, Ia. and Weirsdale, Fla.'s Kyle Maynard finished behind Wagner, while Milton's Eric Chase posted his best finish of the 2009 World Series in fifth place.

Jimmy Weller and Crate Late Model division point leader Landon Cassill - Friday and Saturday's feature winners, respectively - were knocked out of contention with 10 laps remaining after Weller spun Cassill into the wall. Weller was penalized and sent to the rear of the field while Cassill's car was too heavily damaged to continue. Laperle, running third at the time of the wreck, inherited the lead and pulled away from Wagner for the victory.

Other winners on the night included Drew Brannon (Late Model), Ryan Preece (Florida/IMCA-type Modified), Ted Christopher (Tour-type Modified), Jimmy Blewett (SK Modified), and Jeff Choquette (Super Late Model).

Ascutney's Peter Jarvis, a regular on the True Value Modified Racing Series, pulled double-duty by finishing 12th in the Tour-type Modified event and 19th in the Florida Modified division. Tuesday was Jarvis' second night of double-duty in this year's World Series, as he finished 6th (Tour Mod) and 28th (Florida Mod) on Friday. He also has posted finishes of 15th (Saturday) and 7th (Monday) in the Tour Modified division.

No comments: