Thursday, February 11, 2010

World Series: Laperle Wins at New Smyrna, Delaney 2nd in Points

NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. -- Patrick Laperle of St-Denis-sur-Richelieu, Qué., drove from 15th starting position to win the Crate Late Model feature at New Smyrna Speedway's World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing on Wednesday night. Laperle, a former American-Canadian Tour champion and three-time winner of the Chittenden Bank Milk Bowl at Barre's Thunder Road Int'l Speedbowl, now sits fifth in points after four events have been completed in the series.

Dustin Delaney of Mayfield, N.Y., a former Modified racer at Devil's Bowl Speedway in West Haven, finished third in the Wednesday night feature, and is tied for second in points with Tampa, Fla., driver Brandon Johnson, just markers behind young Stephen Nasse of Pinellas Park, Fla. Part-time ACT competitor Brandon Watson of Stayner, Ont., is ninth in points after a disqualification for illegal fuel earlier in the week.

Only three of five scheduled Crate Late Model events have been completed; rain cancelled racing on Friday, Feb. 5, and heavy fog wiped out racing on Tuesday, Feb. 9. The Crate Late Models are slated to race again tonight, with a final 50-lap feature on Friday. Fourteen year-old Nasse won on Saturday and Monday to open the series, but finished seventh last night. Delaney has three top-five finishes to his credit.

For additional coverage of the 44th Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway, visit Marc Patrick Roy's "Oval-Racing" website.

44th Annual World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing
New Smyrna Speedway -- New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Crate Late Models, after Night 6, Wed., Feb. 10, 2010


1. Stephen Nasse, Pinellas Park, Fla. -- 146
2. Dustin Delaney, Mayfield, N.Y. -- 142
-- Brandon Johnson, Tampa, Fla. -- 142
4. Sean Bass, Auburndale, Fla. -- 138
5. Patrick Laperle, St-Denis, Qué. -- 126
6. David Wagner, Akron, Oh. -- 98
7. Jerick Johnson, Mooresville, N.C. -- 94
8. Thor Anderson, Bondurant, Ia. -- 82
9. Brandon Watson, Stayner, Ont. -- 74
10. Erik Jones, Byron, Mich. -- 70

(PHOTO: Patrick Laperle at New Smyrna (Fla.) Speedway; Photo by Marc Patrick Roy)

No comments: