Sunday, May 23, 2010

Pembroke Wins at Devil's Bowl

WEST HAVEN -- Dave Pembroke took the win in the "Thunder at the Bowl" 100 at the freshly paved Devil's Bowl Speedway on Sunday. Pembroke, of Montpelier, battled side-by-side with hometown favorite Mike Bruno of Castleton for the majority of the race.

After starting third, Pembroke took the lead on lap 14. Pembroke broke away from Bruno several times while working through lapped traffic; Bruno reeled him in each time, but didn’t have enough to complete the pass. Pembroke and Bruno were followed to the line by polesitter Tracie Bellerose of Gorham, N.H., Milton's Brent Dragon and Joey Becker of Jeffersonville. Phil Scott, Nick Sweet, Mike Bailey, Tony Andrews, and rookie Chris Riendeau rounded out the top ten.

The event was slowed by six cautions including a red flag for a Grant Folsom flip on the frontstretch. The race was completed in just over 1 hour, 12 minutes with sixteen of the twenty-six starters running at the finish.

The event was the first asphalt race at Devil's Bowl Speedway -- formerly a dirt track -- since 1972, and awarded championship points for the Late Model division at Thunder Road Int'l Speedbowl in Barre.

Don Miller of Wells won the Sportsman Modified feature over Fred Proctor of Clifton Park, N.Y., and Middlebury teenager Hunter Bates. Airborne Speedway regular Cody Benoit of Milton won the Renegade feature over Malta, N.Y., driver Jon Miller and Lance Rabtoy of Fairfax. Thunder Road regulars Chad Brown of Milton and Garry Bashaw of Lincoln went 1-2 in the Bomber Warrior feature, with Russ Downing third. Andy Smith of South Glens Falls, N.Y., was the Duke Stock winner.

1 comment:

Andy B said...

Devil's Bowl was asphalt until '75. In '72 and '73 it was part of the Northern NASCAR Circuit; in '74 it dropped off the circuit and tried an independent schedule with a mix of open Modified and NESMA Super Modified shows.